Site hosted by Build your free website today!

New Character Generation and Skill Rules

These rules are my own design and have been copyrighted
You may use them until they are published or until such time of my choosing
They shall be used only for personal use - never reproduce or sell them
always give credit to myself as the designer   :

-These rules are actually for another game system I have designed 
             but very well for Morrow Project    - 

Morrow Project itself - of course- is NOT mine ... just this generic
character rule system I have devised !!!

whew - don't ya hate that legalistic junk :)
Now on with the Roleplaying .....

Characters - starting characters start with 9 attributes Strength Intellect Charisma Endurance Willpower Luck Dexterity Psionics Perceptiveness For each attribute roll 2d6 Rating (= die roll) Level 2-3 1 4-5 2 6-8 3 9-10 4 11-12 5 13 6 * possible with mutations, etc 14 7 * possible with mutations, etc Note : to have any Psionic ability a minimum Rating of 9 is needed (Level 4) to have a good amount of control on the psionic power, one should have a minimum of 11 (level 5) In the 20th century Psionics are only a Latent skill to humans Morrow, however, discovered that certains drugs would stimulate these powers to active levels. He covertly had these administered to cryogenically frozen agents so upon their awakening they would begin to develope Psionic powers. The play is considered powered but not trained and may have to search out a Psionic Witch etc from the locals to train him or her. A latent psionic will want to leave empty skill points for these psi skills or will have to wait for level advancement to add them. Skills by Level Number of Skills at each Rating Level Character Level Level 1 Level 2 Level 3 Level 4 Level 5 Level 6 Level 1 4 3 2 - - - Level 2 4 3 2 1 - - Level 3 5 4 3 2 - - Level 4 5 4 3 2 1 - Level 5 6 4 4 3 2 - Level 6 6 5 4 3 2 1 Level 7 7 6 5 4 3 2 Intellect bonuses : Level 3 Intellect - gains one extra skill at each Rating levels 1 and 2 Level 4 Intellect - gains one extra skill at each Rating levels 1, 2 and 3 Level 5 Intellect - gains one extra skill at each Rating levels 1, 2, 3 and 4 Level 6 Intellect - gains one extra skill at each Rating Levels 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 Level 7 Intellect - gains one extra skill at each Rating Levels 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 & 6 Other Designations : Health = Endurance Rating + 1d6 per level
Handguns/Submachine Gun Long Arms (Rifle, Shotgun, etc) Heavy Weapons (M60, Grenade Launcher, etc) Demolitions Hand to Hand Combat Short Weapon Use (Dagger, Bayonet, Hatchet, etc) Sword Use Staff/Spear/Bayonet Use Archery Thrown Weapon Driving Pilot - Airplane Pilot - Helicopter Mechanics Meteorology Electronics Computer Science (hardware) Computer Operations (programming, hacking, etc) Laser Technology (requires Mathematics not less than one level lower) Mathematics Chemistry Nuclear Science (requires Mathematics & Computer Operations not less than one level lower) Medicine (General/first aid/surgery) (requires Chemistry not less than one level lower) Microbiology (requires Medicine not less than one level lower) Toxicology (requires Medicine not less than one level lower) Agronomy (Agriculture) Astronomy Veterinary Science Medicine Micro-biology Leadership Carousing/Drinking Artistic Expression (any - specify) Business/Trading/Bartering Law (admittedly, not overly useful in this scenario) Musical Expression (any - specify) Personal Expression (any - specify) Sports (any - specify) Seduction Streetwise Success Roles : Simple - roll the number of d6 equal to the skill rating ... roll the success number or higher to succeed multiple successes indicate extraordinary success easy task success number=2 ordinary task success number=3 difficult task number=4 extraordinary task number=5 incredible task number=6 For tasks that normally require more than a moderate level of skill, multiple successes may be required Example: Hacking into an encrypted high tech computer would probably take 3-4 successes at the extraordinary task level (5) In other words, a person with only nominal skill in computer operation (level 1) would pretty much be unable to succeed even by rolling a 6 (they do NOT succeed 1 out of 6 times) Combat: a gun is fired at an enemy - range is medium so it is a difficult task ... the attacker is highly skilled (level 4) and gets lucky rolling 3 successes - For every success above the required one, add +1 to the area hit below (or at the attacker's option, -1 can be subtracted ... if they are extremely viscious). The exception is Automatic fire weapons, where the added successes are actually additional bullets hitting. Area Hits : 2 or less = Groin 8 = Center Chest * 3 = Foot 9 = Arm 4 = Calf 10 = Hand 5 = Thigh 11 = Head * 6 = Shoulder 12 or more = Throat * 7 = Abdomen * Any damage which penetrates in these areas causes Double Damage Gun success target numbers: Short Range (10' to SR for weapon type) 3 Medium Range " " 4 Long Range* " " 5 Extreme Range* " " 6 * May instead require multiple successes if weapon is not a rifle or, in the case of Extreme range, a scoped weapon Base Weapon Damages: Machine Gun 1d6+3 to 1d6+6 (per bullet hitting - 1d6 + 1/extra success) Heavy M. Gun 2d6+2 to 2d6+5 (per bullet hitting - 1d6 + 1/extra success) Handgun 1d6 (a .22) to 1d6+5 (a .44) Shotgun 1d6 per piece of shot hitting (per bullet hitting - 1d6 to 2d6+4 + 1/extra success ... half the pieces of shot will strike the same area ... round down. This will be the first location rolled) Rifle 2d6 (a .22) to 2d6+8 (a long rifle etc) Grenade 1d6 to 3d6 hits of damage 1d6 to 1d6+3 (frag) (concussive 1d6 to 5d6) Dagger 1d6-1 Club/Spear 1d6+1 Sword 1d6+1 to 1d6+5 This system does over simplify a bit, but makes combat much quicker to run.